SKILLS – Childcare

 

baby sittingWhether you babysit smaller children for love or money, it is a very responsible job, and one that looks fabulous on a school student's resume!

Tell Your Story…

The best way to find YOUR skills in the Child Care area is to tell YOUR story.

What does that mean?

I provide Jessie’s story as an EXAMPLE, remember to tell YOUR story step by step AND include what other people think about your role in your story….

  • When Janet calls me to babysit I will put the date on my phone and a note on the fridge.
  • When I get there I talk to Janet about the kids and what she wants me to do
  • Any special instructions are written on a sheet of paper and put on the fridge, along with emergency contact numbers.
  • Usually, Cassie gets upset when Mum & Dad leave, so I have to settle her down. I can often do this by letting her watch her favourite DVD.
  • I will cook dinner for the kids (if needed) and tidy the kitchen. I will clean up the mess the kids make.
  • Sometimes I have to run a bath, give them a bath, and change them into their PJs.
  • I put the kids to bed and read them a story.
  • I leave the night light on for Adam as he doesn’t like the dark.
  • I watch TV or do some homework when the kids are asleep.
  • Janet probably thinks that I am pretty reliable, because I have been babysitting her kids for a long time. The kids like me too, as I tend to spoil them.

So…

Jessie could write something like this in her resume….

Baby Sitting


Words…

Jessie may also be able to use words or phrases like these in her resume:

  • Reading and following instructions
  • Preparing baby formula
  • Changing nappies
  • Bathing children
  • Reading to children
  • Putting children to bed
  • Playing educational games
  • Cleaning
  • Cooking/preparing/serving meals
  • Administering medications
  • Resolving conflicts
  • Feeding/caring for pets

Can you think of anything else?


Still Stuck?

Babysitting is a very responsible job.

You are totally aware, right, that parents won't leave their kids with just anyone?? Just checking! 

Here are some written examples about Baby Sitting.

  • A reliable and punctual to my babysitting jobs. I regularly care for children ranging in ages from 1 to 10.
  • I can feed, bath, bed and be responsible for small children when babysitting for friends and family.
  • In high demand for babysitting jobs because I am thorough, conscientious and can keep a level head in emergency situations.
  • Babysitting is more than just watching the TV, I like to read stories, play board games, supervise activities on outside play equipment and check school work.
  • Can be relied upon to care and look after children of varying ages for extended periods of time. Able to follow instructions and leave the house tidy when I leave.

babysitting2

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *