Career Objective Clues…

Is there a SIMPLE formula for a successful Career Objective?

A Career Objective is a paragraph often included in a resume (or letter of application)

Try this formula…

THREE simple sentences are all you need (you can add more if you like). These sentences focus on:

  • What?

  • Why?

  • Because I am good at…

FIRST Sentence:

WHAT job do you want?

eg. My career objective is to become a hairdresser.

SECOND Sentence:

WHY do you want this job?

eg. I have always enjoyed styling hair, particularly long hair, and spend hours with my friends playing with different styles.

THIRD Sentence:

Why you would be GOOD at this job.

eg. I am very chatty, have a good sense of humour and I get along well with people of all ages.

Put these THREE sentences together: this is how it reads:

  • My career objective is to become a hairdresser. I have always enjoyed styling hair, particularly long hair, and spend hours with my friends playing with different styles. I am very chatty, have a good sense of humour and I get along well with people of all ages.

Here are some more examples…

electricalElectrical Apprentice

  • My career ambition (idea) is to become an electrical apprentice.
  • I worked for Watters Electrical for work experience and really enjoyed it.  
  • I enjoy working with my hands, have good communication skills (as you can see from my english reports), always achieve high results in my maths (an important part of electrical work) and like problem solving.
  • I feel I have the necessary skills, abilities and attitude to make a valuable employee for an electrical company.

MechanicMotorbike Mechanic

  • My passion is motorbikes, and I want to be a motorbike mechanic.
  • Since I was younger than I can remember, I have enjoyed mucking about with motors and motorbikes.
  • I spend a lot of my spare time working on my motorbike at home, and I often problem-solve with Dad if a farm bike is not running properly.
  • I have a great understanding of spare parts and how much they cost and enjoy hunting around for a bargain. I often use the internet to find prices for parts.
  • I am certain that I have the right characteristics, persistence and knowledge to be a reliable and enthusiastic motorbike mechanic.

flowerTrainee Florist

  • I would love the opportunity to become a trainee florist.
  • My grandmother helped me from a very young age to arrange flowers for her house and for special occasions. Grandma did a florist course when she was young so has been able to show me many tricks of the trade.
  • I have good colour sense, and very much like the unusual designs as well as the classic flower arrangements. I am good with people, and would enjoy the opportunity to become involved in an industry I am passionate about.

plumberPlumbing Apprenticeship

  • I have been interested in becoming a plumber for a number of years now and am seeking a full-time plumbing apprenticeship.
  • I worked with Joe Luci, Numurkah for my work experience and really liked what I did.
  • I do not mind getting my hands dirty or crawling into small spaces. I listen carefully to instructions and am not afraid to ask questions. I am reliable, punctual and have a good sense of humour.
  • These qualities are important for a plumber to have.

Not sure about what job you want?

confused2This is quite NORMAL (not knowing what you want to be), and it is OK to say so in your Career Objective, you probably just need to expand on things you are good at.

Here is an example:

  • I am interested in so many things that I am uncertain as to what job I want to do.
  • I love working outdoors, I don’t mind getting dirty and I can work well on my own or in a team. I am a visual person who likes to create things. I am reliable, punctual, hardworking and don’t mind giving different things a go.

OR

  • I am not ready to make a decision about a particular career direction yet but am looking to explore a number of different experiences. I can tell you that I am good with people, have a caring nature and enjoy learning new things and I would be a happy & cooperative person to employ.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *