Welcome 2017!

It has been a while since I put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) for this blog.

As we know, a CAREER is a journey incorporating many different experiences and changes in a lifetime. Mine has taken a bit of a twist (since Oct 2016) and I find myself part-time Career Practitioner AND a new business owner (family) – hence there is much to learn but less hours to commit to this blog.

That being said, I want to discuss the ways in which I use my blog in careers classes – you too may find it useful in your role (I know the majority of my followers are career practitioners). If you are a young person following this blog – don’t worry – you will find this useful too!

As it is the start of a new year, and there are many classes out there about to tackle fledgling resumes and letters, I will focus on two particular areas in this blog:

  • Looking at the tags across the top of the page here (white writing on black background) – yes you WILL need to scroll back up – you will find links to
    • Resume Clues… &
    • Letter Writing Clues… 
  • TIP: Here is a visual clue for what you are looking for:

  • At these links, you will find a series of posts pertaining to these two very important ‘must haves’ for students (letter writing and resume writing)
  • Some of the posts have short videos – useful to break up a class – or introduce a topic to students (or break down a mystery).

I won’t ruin your adventure by explaining what you will find at these links, rather, I will let you explore and figure out what it is you would like to know, or incorporate into your classes. Remember it is all FREE, so go nuts!!

HINT: I like to project the posts onto a screen and read from them to open up discussions.

BTW: You may know a teacher at your school - new to Careers or VCAL - who would benefit from knowing where these things are. Please feel free to share.


You won’t be hearing from me as often in the future, as I am on a steep learning curve with our new business, but I will add the occasional post when I feel inspired – or resurrect a relevant oldie.

Enjoy 2017, and may your career ambitions come to life!

BTW: our new business is Nathalia Boarding Kennels & Cattery - you are welcome to take a peek!

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *