Letter of Application – 5 paras

binMake sure your job application letter stays OUT of the recycle bin (and not IN it) by following my simple steps:

There are FIVE paragraphs:

Para

Focus

1 What what job are you applying for?
2 Schooling a quick focus on school
3 Why why you would be a good fit in this job?
4 Skills things that you do NOW that will fit with this job
5 Thanks thank you and look forward to an interview

Example Paragraphs

Here are three examples following the formula above.

1. Hair Dressing

What I wish to apply for the hairdressing apprenticeship advertised recently at my school.
Schooling I have successfully completed Year 11 at Shepparton High School, I don’t mind school, and I have reasonable school reports, but I can’t wait to get into the workforce.
Why I completed work experience at Curlz Salon in Shepparton when I was in Year 10. I really enjoyed my week here and it confirmed to me that hairdressing is what I want to do. 
Skills I have a bubbly personality and am a real people person. I enjoyed interacting with the customers at Curlz Salon – I am well known at my school for being considerate and helpful towards others. 
Thanks Thankyou for this fantastic opportunity. I hope to see you soon for an interview. 

2. Hospitality

What I wish to apply for the hospitality traineeship advertised recently on your Facebook page.
Schooling I successfully completed Year 12 VCAL at Cobram High School in 2015. My favorite subject was Food Technology. 
Why I have learned a heap of skills in Food Technology which would be helpful in the traineeship. We catered for several large events during the year and I liked doing this. I would be happy to discuss these functions with you.
Skills I have always enjoyed cooking, I regularly cook for my family, and I like to look through cookbooks. Watching reality TV cooking shows is also a hobby of mine. 
Thanks Thankyou for taking the time to read my application. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

3. Engineering

What I wish to apply for the Engineering apprenticeship advertised in the Shepparton News on 6th August 2015.
Schooling I have successfully completed Year 12 VCE at Kyabram P-12 College, my favorite subjects were Maths and VETis Engineering.
Why I have completed work experience at a number of Engineering firms in the local area (outlined in my resume). I received excellent feedback from the employers. I am a hard worker and very reliable. 
Skills I have made a number of things during school and VET classes including a trailer, tool box and a kitchen bench seat (using an old tractor seat). I already have many practical skills which will be very useful in your workplace.
Thanks Thank you for taking the time to read my application. I am happy to do work experience for you if you feel it is necessary. I look forward to hearing from you. 

Other things you might like to add:

  1. Sometimes it might be worth adding information about your driver’s licence (how soon you will have it – and how you might get to work in the meantime).
  2. Commitments you may have (for example exams or a pre-paid holiday).
  3. Offer to do work experience (if you are still at school) to show them that you are keen.
  4. Adding a sentence about their website or Facebook page can also be a good thing.  For example: “I see on your website that you can cater for up to 500 people, that must be a great challenge!”

Key Competencies

Some places may ask you to respond to key competencies or selection criteria – see my selection criteria clues to find out more.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *